2021 Historic Hotels Annual Awards of Excellence Ceremony & Gala will be held on November 11, 2021 at The American Club Resort Hotel (1918) in Kohler, Wisconsin

Historic Hotels of America® and Historic Hotels Worldwide® are pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Historic Hotels Awards of Excellence.

To see additional images and learn more over the coming weeks, explore our Inspiration page.

From more than 250 nominees, the following Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide hotels and hoteliers were selected as the 2020 Historic Hotels Awards of Excellence winners:

Historic Hotels of America New Member of the Year


Best Social Media of a Historic Hotel


Sustainability Champion


Best Small Historic Inn/Hotel (Under 75 Guestrooms)


Best Historic Hotel (76-200 Guestrooms)


Best Historic Hotel (201-400 Guestrooms)


Best Historic Hotel (Over 400 Guestrooms)


Best City Center Historic Hotel


Best Historic Resort


Best Historic Restaurant

  •   Le Cavalier at the Green Room at HOTEL DU PONT (1913) Wilmington, Delaware


Hotel Historian of the Year


Ambassador of the Year (Quarter Century of Service)


Best Historic Hotels Worldwide Hotel in Europe


Best Historic Hotels Worldwide Hotel in Asia/Pacific


Best Historic Hotels Worldwide Hotel in the Americas


Steward of History and Historic Preservation

  • General (retired) Gregory Melikian at Hotel San Carlos (1928) Phoenix, Arizona


Legendary Family Historic Hoteliers of the Year


Historic Hotelier of the Year


Lifetime Achievement Award


“Congratulations to the recipients of the 2020 Historic Hotels Awards of Excellence. These 2020 winners include the finest legendary and iconic historic hotels and hoteliers from across the United States of America and from around the world,” said Lawrence Horwitz, Executive Vice President, Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide. “We are delighted to recognize these magnificent historic hotels and their historic hoteliers for their dedication, enthusiasm, stewardship, and leadership in preserving and increasing the recognition and celebration of these historic, cultural and heritage treasures and their stories.”

Award recipients are selected from nominees received from historic hotels, historic preservation supporters, prior award recipients, and leadership from Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide. As official programs of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide provide the recognition to travelers, civic leaders, and the global cultural, heritage, and historic travel market that member hotels are among the finest historic hotels across America and around the world. The Historic Hotels Annual Awards of Excellence program recognizes the pinnacle of this distinct group of nominees in a range of categories.

About Historic Hotels of America®
Historic Hotels of America is the official program of the National Trust for Historic Preservation for recognizing and celebrating the finest Historic Hotels. Historic Hotels of America has more than 300 historic hotels. These historic hotels have all faithfully maintained their authenticity, sense of place, and architectural integrity in the United States of America, including 44 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico. Historic Hotels of America is comprised of mostly independently owned and operated historic hotels. More than 30 of the world’s finest hospitality brands, chains, and collections are represented in Historic Hotels of America. To be nominated and selected for membership into this prestigious program, a hotel must be at least 50 years old; has been designated by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior as a National Historic Landmark or listed in or eligible for listing in the National Register of Historic Places; and recognized as having historic significance. For more information, please visit HistoricHotels.org


About Historic Hotels Worldwide®
Washington DC based Historic Hotels Worldwide® is a prestigious collection of historic treasures, including more than 360 legendary historic hotels including many former castles, chateaus, palaces, academies, haciendas, villas, monasteries, and other historic lodging spanning ten centuries. Historic Hotels Worldwide recognizes authentic cultural treasures that demonstrate exemplary historic preservation and their inspired architecture, cultural traditions, and authentic cuisine.  To be nominated and selected for induction into Historic Hotels Worldwide, historical lodging properties must be at least 75 years old; utilize historic accommodations; serve as the former home or be located on the grounds of the former home of famous persons or significant location for an event in history; be located in or within walking distance to a historic district, historically significant landmark, place of historic event, or a historic city center; be recognized by a local preservation organization or national trust; and display historic memorabilia, artwork, photography, and other examples of its historic significance.  For more information, please visit HistoricHotelsWorldwide.com.