2021 Historic Hotels Annual Awards of Excellence Ceremony & Gala will be held on November 11, 2021 at The American Club Resort Hotel (1918) in Kohler, Wisconsin

2019 Award Winners

From more than 200 nominees, the following Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide hotels and hoteliers were honored with these prestigious annual awards for 2019:

Historic Hotels of America New Member of the Year

  • Blackburn Inn (1828) Staunton, Virginia

Best Social Media of a Historic Hotel

  • The Hotel Hershey® (1933) Hershey, Pennsylvania

Sustainability Champion

  • Morris Inn at Notre Dame (1952) South Bend, Indiana

Best Small Historic Inn/Hotel (Under 75 Guestrooms)

  • James Hotel (1875) Red Wing, Minnesota

Best Historic Hotel (76-200 Guestrooms)

  • Historic Hotel Bethlehem (1922) Bethlehem, Pennsylvania

Best Historic Hotel (201-400 Guestrooms)

  • The Wigwam (1929) Litchfield Park, Arizona

Best Historic Hotel (Over 400 Guestrooms)

  • Grand Hotel Golf Resort & Spa (1847) Point Clear, Alabama

Best City Center Historic Hotel

  • The Hermitage Hotel (1910) Nashville, Tennessee

Best Historic Resort

  • Mohonk Mountain House (1869) New Paltz, New York

Best Historic Restaurant

  • Smokehouse Restaurant at Antrim 1844 Taneytown, Maryland

Hotel Historian of the Year

  • Larry Johnson at The Seelbach Hilton Louisville (1905) Louisville, Kentucky

Ambassador of the Year (Quarter Century of Service)

  • Frolin Hatcher and Larry Goins at Pinehurst Resort (1895) Pinehurst, North Carolina

Best Historic Hotels Worldwide Hotel in Europe

  • Losby Gods (1744) Finstadjordet, Norway

Best Historic Hotels Worldwide Hotel in Asia/Pacific

  • Raffles Singapore (1887) Singapore

Best Historic Hotels Worldwide Hotel in the Americas

  • Hacienda Uxmal Plantation and Museum (1673) Yucatan, Mexico        

Steward of History and Historic Preservation

  • Robert H. Dedman Jr. at Pinehurst Resort (1895) Pinehurst, North Carolina

Legendary Family Historic Hoteliers of the Year

  • The Belz Family at The Peabody Memphis (1869) Memphis, Tennessee

Historic Hotelier of the Year

  • Kenneth Hayward at Grand Hotel (1887) Mackinac Island, Michigan

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Steven Dopp at Francis Marion Hotel (1924) Charleston, South Carolina; Middlebury Inn (1827), Middlebury, Vermont; The Westin Poinsett (1925), Greenville, South Carolina