2021 Historic Hotels Annual Awards of Excellence Ceremony & Gala will be held on November 11, 2021 at The American Club Resort Hotel (1918) in Kohler, Wisconsin

2017 Award Winners

From more than 200 nominees, the following Historic Hotels of America and Historic Hotels Worldwide hotels and hoteliers were honored with these prestigious annual awards for 2017:

Historic Hotels of America New Member of the Year

  • The Georges (1789) Lexington, Virginia

Best Social Media of a Historic Hotel

  • The Mission Inn Hotel & Spa (1876) Riverside, California

Sustainability Champion

  • Inn at the Presidio (1903) San Francisco, California

 Best Small Historic Inn/Hotel (Under 75 Guestrooms)

  • The Dunhill Hotel (1929) Charlotte, North Carolina

 Best Historic Hotel (76-200 Guestrooms)

  • Mayflower Park Hotel (1927) Seattle, Washington

Best Historic Hotel (201-400 Guestrooms)

  • West Baden Springs Hotel (1902) West Baden Springs, Indiana

Best Historic Hotel (Over 400 Guestrooms)

  • Amway Grand Plaza (1913) Grand Rapids, Michigan

 Best City Center Historic Hotel

  • Marriott Syracuse Downtown (1924) Syracuse, New York

Best Historic Resort

  • The Broadmoor (1918) Colorado Springs, Colorado

Best Historic Restaurant in Conjunction with a Historic Hotel

  • Penrose Room at The Broadmoor (1918) Colorado Springs, Colorado

Hotel Historian of the Year

Ambassador of the Year (Quarter Century of Service)

 Best Historic Hotels Worldwide hotel in Europe

  • Hotel Waldhaus Sils (1908) Sils Maria, Switzerland

 Best Historic Hotels Worldwide hotel in Asia/Pacific

  • Alsisar Haveli (1892) Jaipur, India

 Best Historic Hotels Worldwide hotel in the Americas

  • Fairmont Le Château Frontenac (1893) Québec City, Canada

 Historian of the Year

  • Chef Walter Staib, author, twelve time Emmy Award winning TV host of A Taste of History©, and chef and proprietor of City Tavern Restaurant in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

 Stewards of History and Historic Preservation Award

 Legendary Family Historic Hoteliers of the Year

Historic Hotelier of the Year

  • Philip Wood at The Jefferson, Washington, DC (1923) Washington, DC

 Lifetime Achievement Award